Come Undone by Madelynne Ellis

cover35565-medium

 

Come Undone is a different twist on a rock story. I did enjoy the intimate look at a rock star who doesn’t crave the limelight. What I didn’t like was that Xane and the sex seemed over the top.  I felt that that was most of the story…with a little bit of dialogue thrown in.

Xane is the lead singer of Black Halo a world famous Goth-metal band. After a concert Xane leaves the band because of his relationship with one of the members goes sour. He runs into Dani in the hallway and convinces her to take him away. Xane finds himself really into Dani and gets her to jet of to Monaco City to hide out from all the publicity. There Xane and Dani start to explore each other and their relationship more.

Xane is…I don’t really know. I want to like him, I really do. But I don’t feel that I can. His band mate and girlfriend just broke up with him because she married another band mate…and wait they were in a threesome…so he finds the first girl and falls in love with her. But he is also bi-sexual and I think feels worse about losing Steve than Elspeth. It just doesn’t work for me.

Dani was an interesting choice for Xane and I wasn’t too sure of her at first. She has some serious issues that she tries to work through. She comes from a woman’s religious commune (who beat her) and she falls for a sex addicted rock star? By the end of the book I felt that she blossomed into her own character and was a passable fit for him.

There is quite a lot of drama in Come Undone. While Xane and Dani leave the rock world for a while the drama seems to follow them. Xane and Dani seem to create their own drama as well. Sometimes it worked and sometimes it didn’t.  so with that said…I really didn’t enjoy the book as much as I thought I would. The story is set with a cliffhanger that left me questioning the need for it. The book is quite long so I didn’t understand why Xane and Dani’s story couldn’t be wrapped up in this book.

 

TBorges_TheBookClub_rating (2)

Jenn

TBorges_TheBookClub_readingshild (3)

 

 

From the Author:

 

On stage he’s dynamite. Off stage he rocks her world. When red-hot, Goth-metal band, Black Halo, split live on stage, fate throws Daniella Fosbrook into the path of sexy vocalist Xane Geist. Initially, Xane’s only looking for a ride home, but Dani tempts him in a way a thousand other women haven’t. Determined to explore their heady chemistry and avoid hashing things out with the band, Xane whisks Dani off to Monaco for a steamy weekend. There, Dani tries her best to hang onto her heart and some clothing, while Xane soon loses both. However, Xane isn’t being entirely honest about the reason for the band’s demise. When the truth comes out, can Dani accept the facts, or will everything come undone?

Leave a Reply

