Elite (The Eagle Elite Series) by Rachel Van Dyke

Tracey Rooks grew up on her grandparent’s farm in Wyoming. When it’s time for college she applies and won a lottery for a coveted spot at Eagle Elite University. Eagle is a very prestigious university in Chicago. Her world is soon turned upside down when she meets Nikon. Even when he is being a jerk, she is drawn to him. Tracey soon finds out that everything she knew about her life is wrong and her future will be nothing like she thought.  Nikon is seen as a wealthy college student. He runs Eagle Elite and everyone knows it. Nikon does his best to stay away from Tracey. But like every good plan he finds his life meshed with hers.  As Tracey’s history is revealed so are Nixon’s secrets. Can Tracey and Nixon have their happily ever after?

17729036

(original cover..which I think is really hot)

18170509

(new cover)

So….I really am on the fence with this Elite. I am literally straddling the line between like and dislike. Which means that I think it was eh. Nothing to horrible but nothing that was really great either.  I believe that the story has a lot of potential but it just didn’t play out very well. I think that the book should either have been a Young Adult Novel or a Regular Adult Novel. I think by choosing “New Adult”, it felt like the author couldn’t decide which way to go with it.  The mob angle was a different story line and I actually like that because it’s not something that is written about often.

Nixon is quite the jerk in the beginning, ok a HOT jerk, but still a jerk.  It took me a little while before I actually liked him. When he wasn’t being a jerk he was actually a nice guy (as nice as you can for the mob). You could tell that he struggled with his feelings for Tracey and always wanted what was best for her.  I just could not see him as the “head” of his family.  (Now in my opinion, if he was the son of the boss and in college while figuring out if he wanted to stay in the family that would have been more believable.)

Tracey Rooks is an interesting mix.  I found her at times to be quite brave (especially with all the bullying) and at other times completely naïve. I did like her with Nixon as I can see why she would be attracted to him. Must admit, I liked Chase! I was really rooting for him. The additions of Nixon’s friends make for well-rounded cast of characters. I hope that future books will feature more of them.

 With all this being said, I will still pick up the next book because I want to see how things play out as I think the story has a lot of potential.  The book reminds me of a daytime soap that sucks you in and you have to keep watching because you need to know what’ happens.

I do feel that if this book interests you, you should read it. As you might have a totally different opinion then I do. And I would love to hear about it!

TBorges_TheBookClub_rating (3)

TBorges_TheBookClub_wa (3)

TBorges_TheBookClub_readingshild (3)

Jenn

DISCLAIMER: I received an advanced copy (from Netgalley) of Elite in exchange for my honest review.

  Author Site – www.RachelVanDyken.com

From The Publisher:

For Tracey Rooks, life with her grandparents on a Wyoming farm has always been simple. But after her grandmother’s death, Tracey is all her grandfather has. So when Eagle Elite University announces its annual scholarship lottery, Tracey jumps at the opportunity to secure their future and enters. She isn’t expecting much-but then she wins. And life as she knows it will never be same . . .

The students at Eagle Elite are unlike any she’s ever met . . . and they refuse to make things easy for her. There’s Nixon, gorgeous, irresistible, and leader of a group that everyone fears: The Elect. Their rules are simple. 1. Do not touch The Elect. 2. Do not look at The Elect. 3. Do not speak to The Elect. No matter how hard she tries to stay away, The Elect are always around her and it isn’t long until she finds out the reason why they keep their friends close and their enemies even closer. She just didn’t realize she was the enemy — until it was too late.

Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1484125460

Publisher: Forever (July 9, 2013)

Sold by: Hachette Book Group

Leave a Reply

